The Arts|Learning’s Champions of Arts Education Awards honor individuals and organizations that have made exceptional contributions to arts education advocacy and continue to make strides toward the goal of high quality arts education for every student in Massachusetts.

From 1984 through to the present, the Champion of Arts Education Awards have recognized over 265 teachers and arts advocates in our schools and communities for their accomplishments educating students and for supporting arts education.  Arts|Learning continues this tradition of recognizing excellence in arts education programs and advocacy. Nominations may be submitted by any Massachusetts resident and current A|L members.  Self-nominations are encouraged.


Nominations are now open for our annual awards cycle.  Please note most awards have a deadline of April 28.  All nominations must be submitted digitally according to the directions in the Arts Education Nominations Packet.

Get the Current Nominations Packet and information here.

Get the Current Cover Pages and Narrative Form (required with each nomination).

Separate Application Packets are Needed for the Following Awards:

  • The National School Boards Association’s School Committee Arts Advocate Award materials are distributed to school boards across the state, and Arts|Learning accepts nominations throughout the year on a rolling basis. To be considered for the A|L & MASC state award for Massachusetts, the application must be received by May 10 of each year. The attached packet and information may be used to begin the application process. Please mail all materials to Arts|Learning, P.O. Box 483, Medfield, MA 02052.The form below gives more information and directions.
Massachusetts School Committee Award Nomination Form and Directions
  • Schools of Distinction in Arts Education Award: This Award program is presented to individual schools that have arts education programs that include two or more of the following components:1. teach all the arts–dance, music, theatre, visual arts–as specific disciplines;
    2. provide imaginative learning environments;
    3. include parental involvement;
    4. promote learning about other cultures; and
    5. encourage community connections.Recipients of the Award are chosen by Arts|Learning. Arts|Learning may recognize as many state-level award winners as they wish for each school year.  Please note that the Kennedy Center has discontinued the national award, but Arts|Learning still recognizes individual schools for their accomplishments in this area on the state level. Please mail all materials to Arts|Learning, P.O. Box 483, Medfield, MA 02052. Schools of Distinction nominations must be received by April 28 of each year.
Schools of Distinction Application

Please note:  As a general rule, Arts|Learning does not award past award winners with the same award more than once.  This includes awardees who have received an award from our previous incarnations as the Massachusetts Alliance for Arts Education and the National Arts and Learning Collaborative.